View All
Insights & News
Michelle Yates
More by Michelle

Some ABCs in the AEC

There are so many acronyms in the A/E/C (Architecture/Engineering/Construction) industry! So, I thought I would take a few minutes to explain a few of the ones that you might see after our design professionals’ names.

  1. RA means registered architect. And how did they become a registered architect? Check out this blog by our very own Riza Encarnacion about The Long and Winding Road to Licensure. Lawrence Group has more than 30 registered architects across offices in addition to more than 30 other design professionals.
  2. NCIDQ is a certification for interior designers. It stands for National Council for Interior Design Qualification. Click here for a nice graphic on the NICDQ exam eligibility paths. At Lawrence Group, we have 8 NCIDQ-certified professionals on our 25+interior design team.
  3. NCARB stands for National Council of Architectural Registration Boards. The NCARB certificate helps facilitate architectural licensing across borders.
  4. AIA is the abbreviation for the American Institute of Architecture. This means the individual is also a registered architect or might have Assoc. AIA if they are not yet licensed.
  5. EDAC stands for Evidence-Based Design Accreditation and Certification. This certification is administered by The Center for Health Design. We have EDAC professionals in our St. Louis and Austin offices.
  6. LEED AP® means Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design Accredited Professional, and this is administered by the U.S. Green Building Council. An individual could also have other letters signifying their specialty: BD BD+C (Building, Design + Construction), O+M (Operations + Maintenance); ID+C (Interior Design + Construction, or ND (Neighborhood Development). At Lawrence Group, we have more than 15 LEED APs in multiple categories.
Share Button